Sweet Pea Release Concert

Friday 25 May: Sweet Pea Album Release

7:30pm, FREE/pwyc
Sweet Pea is a Toronto folk-pop band led by Rebecca Hennessy and Julia Hambleton. The duo’s original songs blend dreamy vocal harmonies with ukuleles, accordion and the solid rhythm section of drummer Dave Clark (Gord Downie, Rheostatics) and Juno-nominated jazz bassist Michael Herring.
Their highly praised first release What It Is features a host of local talent including Ryan Driver (Analog Synth), Jason Kenemy (piano), Nichol Robertson (Banjo, Electric Guitar) and Joe Lapinski (acoustic guitar). The 12 songs on the album are at turns playful, dreamy or reflective with a nod to a range of musical genres including jazz, reggae, folk and pop. “Everything somewhere between cheery and thoughtful has its place.” (Michael Thomas, Greyowl Point).  Divide and Conquer gave it a “Top Album” review and described Sweet Pea as, “ an example of what happens when two great minds collide.”
Posted in Uncategorised.